[Very basic] stack overflow and computability

I’m new to Coq. I have two questions for the following code.

Fixpoint plus (n : nat) (m : nat) : nat :=
  match n with
  | O => m
  | S n' => S (plus n' m)
  end.

Notation "x + y" := (plus x y)
                       (at level 50, left associativity)
                       : nat_scope.

Check 10000 + 10000 = 20000. (** stack overflow occurs **)

This is the simple implementation of addition and checks a unit test via Check 10000 + 10000 = 20000.

1. The computation 100 + 100 = 200 works, but for large numbers, a stack overflow error occurs. Is there a way to compute deeply nested types without encountering this issue?

2. In some programming languages, 10000 + 10000 is executed efficiently with a few instructions. However, in Coq, it seems the compiler unpacks types one by one (e.g., S (S ...) -> S (...)) leading to potential overhead. Does the Coq compiler perform this unpacking sequentially, or does it have optimizations based on mathematical or algorithmic techniques?

Thank you.

I am not particularly a Coq expert myself, anyway this is one I have asked at some point, so I will try and share at least a first approximation.

for large [nat] numbers, a stack overflow error occurs

nat indeed is not meant for efficient computation, on the contrary, it is the “natural” and simplest definition we can give (it’s Peano’s definition), and we would mostly use it for specification as opposed to implementation, since we (tend to) trust our judgment as to whether e.g. a function in nat computes what its name says, while an efficient implementation is harder to assess and indeed it is rather proven correct by proving equivalence with the “natural” definition.

Is there a way to compute deeply nested types without encountering this issue?