[Question; very basic] Stack-based virtual machine test

Hello everyone,

I’m relatively new to using Coq and am currently working on verifying a stack-based virtual machine. My main goal is to ensure that illegal instructions are not generated by the compiler. To get up to speed, I’ve been familiarizing myself with the basics of Coq.

One of my objectives is to verify that the instruction executor only processes valid instructions. For instance, the ADD instruction should only execute if there are at least two elements present on the stack. However, I’ve encountered a stumbling block with the implementation of the exec function. I suspect the issue might stem from the feasibility of implementing the precondition length s > 2 for this function, as it seems this condition might not be verifiable at compile time.

I’m unsure about the best approach to ensure the correctness of such conditions or how to proceed with the implementation under these constraints. Could anyone offer guidance or advice on how to tackle this problem? Any suggestions or teaching materials would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

1 Inductive instr' : Type :=
 2 | PUSH' (s: state) (n : nat) : instr'
 3 | ADD' (s : state) :
 4     length s > 2 -> instr'.
 6 Definition exec_instr' (i : instr') : state :=
 7   match i with
 8   | PUSH' st n => n :: st
 9   | ADD' st _ =>
10       let operand2 := hd 0 st in
11       let operand1 := hd 0 (tl st) in
12       (operand1 + operand2) :: (tl (tl st))
13   end.
15 Fixpoint exec' (is : list instr') : state :=
16   match is with
17   | [] => []
18   | i₁ :: i₂ :: is' =>
19       let st := exec_instr' i₁ in
20       match i₂ with
21       | PUSH' _ n => exec' (PUSH' st n :: is')
22       | ADD' _ _ => exec' (ADD' st :: [])         (* Assistant prompt error appears *)
23       (* | ADD' _ _ => exec' [] *)                (* No error *)
24       end
25   | i₁ :: i₂ => [] (* TODO *)
26   end.

Hello,