Newbie Question: Match Case Analysis and Propagation

Hello! I’m new to Coq and to writing machine-verified proofs in general – I just started at this yesterday – and have occasionally been stymied because I know what I want to do but have no idea about the basic syntax to express it. I’m currently working on an exercise to prove a relationship between two functions and need to gather some information out of a hypothesis I have. At present, my hypothesis reads

H : match typecheck e with
| Just TBool => Just TBool
| _ => Nothing
end = Just t

Here, Just and Nothing are constructors for my own little option-like type (because I made my own to learn how such things are defined). In case it’s relevant, the definition is

Inductive maybe {A:Type} : Type :=
  | Just : A -> @maybe A
  | Nothing : @maybe A

I would expect to be able to learn the following from hypothesis H:

1. That t = TBool.
  2. That typecheck e = Just TBool.

I can get the first conclusion by

destruct (typecheck e) in H.
2: inversion H.  (* eliminate "Nothing = Just t" case *)
destruct (t0) in H.
1: inversion H.  (* eliminate "Nothing = Just t" case *)
apply unjust_preserves_equal in H.

where unjust_preserves_equal is a simple lemma that states forall A : Type, forall x y : A, @Just A x = @Just A y -> x = y.. This leaves me with the hypothesis H : TBool = t, which gets me conclusion number 1 above.

This is somewhat destructive, of course, as I no longer have the structure I wanted. I presume there’s some way to “copy” H so that I could avoid losing the original match structure.

Setting that aside, I have no idea how to get conclusion number 2. maybe is a simple inductive type, so I don’t see why I shouldn’t be able to reach conclusion number 2; I just have no idea how to ask Coq to extract that conclusion from the original H’s match expression. (I tried to write a little lemma to do this, but I couldn’t find a way to make the TBool pattern a parameter to the lemma.)

Thank you!