How to be good in formal verification?

Today I don’t believe in software. Errors are easy to do. When I write code, I have error. I feel that I am not a reliable coder.

To avoid that, I decide to learn formal verification. I start with the lessons on the Software Foundations website. I can understand the content of the lesson. It is theoretical but practical. Still, I think I’m not good in that yet.

Every time I try the theorem, I have to think. I think very hard. If for everything I need to write I have to think so much, my speed to write the code is slow. You can never reach the speed of writing code in normal languages. Because of this, the truth is that I need to improve my speed of thinking more to write faster. I want to hear about the practice tips to improve my speed and competences in formal verification. Any advice?

There is no single canonical answer here, some standard answers I’ve heard:

• Work through exercises in books and other course material.
  • Read the scientific literature to become familiar with techniques and tools, in particular surveys.
  • Do online code challenges.
  • Contribute to open source verification projects (practical training with hard constraints).
  • Enroll in relevant university courses or educational program (master’s/PhD level)

The challenge is two-fold: to write a theorem and to prove it.

When playing with the textbook, in most cases the theorem is provided, and your task is to prove it. It’s OK to type Coq tactics mindlessly, but if you’re stuck for 5 minutes, leave the keyboard and write the proof with pen and paper. Coq is an assistant; you are the prover. Ask yourself: What does a mathematical proof for the theorem look like?