How to make verified software more accessible

Sorry if this is a naive question. I’m new to the world of proof assistants, and my goal for the year essentially is to become a proficient user, able to write verified software in some domain. Longer term, I really would like to figure out how to make it so that in industry people can write “better” code (more correct, verified, etc).

I’m a deep believer in two things: 1. the state of software is abysmal (look at the 747 max, for example) and 2. we need tools like proof assistants and formal verification to help solve 1. That said, this stuff is not easy. My own background is in data engineering, largely in Java and Scala, and even getting people to use Scala over say Python can be a real battle. People heavily resist the idea of having to “think with a computer” (eg with the compiler), even if ultimately it saves them a lot of time and pain. Interesting Rust has been a bit of a different experience…I don’t know how, but a lot of people I know who would never get excited about Scala or Haskell are excited to write Rust, even though it’s much lower level. This is probably for social reasons rather than technical ones, THOUGH I think that Rust has done a good job, marketing wise, of explaining the problem that the compiler solves for the user.

Regardless…I’m curious what approaches there are to make formally verified more accessible. There are multiple ways to approach this. One is more theoretical: is it even possible? Is it desirable? Perhaps it will always be that a cabal of PhDs will hop from trillion dollar company to trillion dollar company helping them verify critical pieces of infrastructure, while the programming quality tire fire rages on. But the state of security on the web as long as the increasing complexity of software in systems like airplanes and cars makes me hope otherwise.